UV Filter Addon

Since my root temperature controller is on the fritz have been battling with some goop growing in my root chamber. It’s not fun. Long story short I want to install a UV light to avoid this sort of thing from happening in the future.

This is the light I bought:

https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B005HJYXNO/ref=pe_3034960_236394800_TE_dp_1

They recommend not having it running 24/7 so the bulb lasts a lot longer. Instead of running it on my own timer is there already I/O’s set up as relays for this sort of thing?

As expected. You experiment with UV while I will send you a temp control this week.

Most chelate micronutrients, especially iron, are rapidly degraded by exposure to uv. The label on most nutrients will recommend storage in a cool, dark place :wink:

Yeah I read that.
I’m by no means an expert. But, based on the tiny bit of reading I did it should be fine. UV seems to be a pretty common way to diseninfect, often combined with other methods. For myself, in terms of risk vs. reward it’s pretty clear that the alternative of no sterilization is at least an order of magnitude worse.
Also, apparently Fe-EDDHA chelates are a lot less effected by UV, so I guess if iron deficiency becomes a problem I can just get some of that?

I picked up cheap timer, some tubing and a windshield washer pump for about $50.
I have to measure how much water that pump will move at 12V. Once I know that I can try to figure out how to tie that into this recommended figure of 100mJ/sq.cm for the UV sterilization.

Love you guys. Take some photos when you do the project.

@wanjun @dabushman @foggy

UV lamp ->It’s not working.

(platina coating )electrolysis 12V

water 2liter
3min ->99.9% sterilization

ozone zero
oxygen concentration up

The best one is still temp control.

Ozone and electrolyte both will possibly generate unintended substances. May not be food safe.

But I am happy to see so many creative thoughts.