Creating a timelapse image out of still images (windows 7/10 guide)

Hey bifarmes,

im a bit late to the party, but this will be my first post to hopefully create some great original content and bring use to an awesome feature that this machine provides: timelapse videos.

I have some experience in doing that, and im currently updating my timelapse montages every friday on my instagram account: @homegrown_ger.

To create a timelapse video on your pc you have to go through several steps:

1. Obtaining the pictures
    (1.1. renaming the pictures)
  2. use a program to sequence the images
  3. enjoy / share the goods.

Step 1: Get the images. I think Wanjun already setup a method to get the images. Either through the app downloaded to the phone or through the USB Ports. Either way is cool, but to have ssh access throgh an ftp program would be easier, since you spare a step to bring the files to the pc.

Step 1.1.: Renaming. I currently dont know in which format the filenames are given to the pictures taken by the aerokit. But if its not a sequence in a numerical ascending order it might be difficult to make the cutting software (ffmpeg) do its job. Here is a workaroung how to rename the pictures to 1.jpg, 2.jpg, 3.jpg given through a chronological order on a WindowsPC:
1.1.a) Open your editor.
b) type:

@echo off
setlocal EnableDelayedExpansion

set i=0
for %%a in (*.jpg) do (
set /a i+=1
ren “%%a” “!i!.new”
)
ren *.new *.jpg

c) save as “rename.bat” in the same folder as your images are.
This file is able to sequence any given order the aero kit provides. It might be optional though.
By checking the order of the renamed files you can verify the correct order. (the intervals of 1/30 is okay, i use 1/20min in flower and 1/30 in veg so i get the same number of pics per day)

d) Only do that if you know, that your images are in some kind of backup! (still on the aeokit-storage or on your phone)